Our Champions 2022

These are our personal choices as our Champions of the year. Some may have been recognised by other bodies, but this is the list of those who caught our eye in particular in 2022. In each category, because this year has been vintage in so many of Europe’s equine activities, it has been very difficult to choose winners, and there have been some close calls, but we set out to choose our champions and here is the list. Please forgive us if you do not agree with our selections and allow us some artistic license.


Overall Champion Racehorse                Baaeed         Group 1 winner of 7 races

Best Three Year Old or Older Colt          Kypios         Winner of 4 Group 1 races

Runner up Colt                                   Modern Games

Best Three Year Old or Older Filly         Alpinistra

Runner up Filly                                   Highfield Princess

Champion Juvenile (Two year old)         Bluebeard    Future classic winner

Best Horse Outside Europe                  Flightline

Champion Trainer                               William Haggas

Runner up Trainer                               Charlie Appleby

Champion Owner                               Kirston Rausing

Champion Jockey                                William Buick

Runner up Jockey                                Hollie Doyle

Sport Horses Overall

Best Show of the Year                          World Equestrian Games: Herning

Best Rider of the Year                          Charlotte Fry (GBR)

Our Champion Sport Horse                  Glamourdale

Horse Trial Eventing

Overall Champion Horse                      London 52

Runner Up Horse                                Ballaghmor Class

Champion Male Rider                          Tim Price NZL)

Runner Up Male rider                          David Doel (GBR)

Champion Female Rider                      Piggy March (GBR)

Runner Up Female Rider                      Jonelle Price (NZL)


Overall Champion Horse                    King Edward

Runner Up Horse                              Caracole de la Rouge

Champion Male Rider                        Henrik Von Eckermann (SWE)

Runner Up Male rider                         Julien Epaillard (FRA)

Champion Female Rider                     Malin Bayard-Johnsson (SWE)

Runner Up Female Rider                     Jodie Hall McAteer (GBR)


Overall Champion Horse                    Glamourdale         

Runner Up Horse                               Vamos Amigos

Champion Male Rider                         Patrik Kittle (SWE)

Runner Up Male rider                         Frederic Wandres (GER)

Champion Female Rider                     Charlotte Fry (GBR)

Runner Up Female Rider                      Cathrine Dufour-Landgaard (DEN)

Back to contents

error: Content is protected !!